Loose upper timing chain

This is continuation of a long tread on E Type forum in hopes I can get help.from other classic 6 cylinder owners Let me describe my problem in a list:

• I bought a 1968 Series 1.5 E Type which was non running and I have no knowledge of its history. I suspected engine problems.
  • First I ran cylinder compression tests with generally good results except 2 cylinders
  • So I removed the head and had it professionally rebuilt. Everything ok except two bad valves which were replaced
  • The head and p customs look visually good and no cracks (so.I was happy)
  • I reinstalled the head, connected upper timing chain sprockets (with one bolt on each) and maximized tension on eccentric spindle, all strictly in accordance with both Jaguar and Haynes maintenance manuals.
  • All well exact when I turn the crank by hand to expose the other spindle bolt hole, the chain and sprockets do not rotate
  • The chain looks in good condition as do all teeth on the intermediate gear which should turn upper chain
  • I have them tried researching sprockets about 5 times without success, with big efforts to ensure idle gear is in lowest possible positions
  • If I pull up on both outer sections of the chain, the chain engaged the intermediate gear and will not rotate
  • So.My first instinct is that chain has worn and is too.loose
  • But that contradicts with info that cams obviously turn during compression tests rotating engine with starter motor - i.e. Before I removed the head.
  • So it seems that I have done something wrong but I don’t know what and I am hoping for good suggestions

APOLOGIES for this long story but I am trying to anticipate as many of your questions as possble.

Typo correction s:
P customs should read piston
Researching should read re -attaching
I hate the spelling corrector

Phillip,