Master Brake Cylinder Repair

List:

I have a leaking master brake cylinder on my 71 XJ6. After reviewing the cost of a new one, a rebuilt one and a new parts only, my plan is as follows.

I purchased a rebuild kit from XK Unlimited and will go through that process. If that is not successful, I will have it rebuilt including sleeving. I assume that will work, but if not, new units are available.

I am a complete novice when it comes to brake cylinders. Although the instructions in the factory manual are clear, I would appreciate any comments from Listers who have done this before. I have hopefully attached a photo of the repair parts provided in the repair kit and the manual exploded diagram. The numbers in red on the photo of the repair parts coincide with the numbered parts in the factory manual. One odd item is the two machine screws which are different diameters and different threads. I assume the reason for that will be clear once I disassemble the unit.

Regards
Lou

Being a complete novice, Lou; note/picture/write down each step during dismantling - reassembly is the reverse process. Pay special attention, and note, to the relative position and orientation of parts/seals - bare memory will fail…:slight_smile:

While the usual fault is with the seals, to be changed - but another possibility is the pitting/corrosion in the bore. Inspect carefully; if the bore is not perfect it may be the cause of the leak - and a resleeving is required…

Use plenty of brake fluid to clean and lubricate all internal parts - specs of ‘grit’ is enough to cause leaks.

Assembling will tell if you have the right kit…:slight_smile:

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ)

you need a 1/2" (I think) allen key to take it apart

photograph or draw the orientation of the seal lips as they come out

Its been a long time since I did mine but I thought they should be identical. Maybe somebody at the factory packed a wrong part?

I am of the same opinion. Re-use the old screws if needed

List: