MKIV Chassis 610495 Restoration blog

My blog is now active - if you are interested in following the restoration progress, the blog can be found here:

http://rustymetalman.uk/25763-2/

This is very early days for the restoration so there is not much to read as yet.

With respect to the Forum: if people are not interested, I will cease posting updates here. I do not make any money from this but it might be useful to other people doing full or partial restorations. Feedback is always welcome, I am not a professional :slight_smile:

First Post is the start of the passenger seat re-construction (extreme rust has taken it beyond restoration).
I have removed and after 2 weeks of soaking in PlusGas - freed up the seat winder mechanism and today created a test piece for curved angle iron to match the original seat profile.

3 Likes

Does anyone have a half decent picture of this area (restored) please?
Its the lower under bonnet area before the bottom of the front door. The panel looks like it has been pushed in at some point and the repair can be improved upon - but I dont know what it is supposed to look like. Both sides of the car have been repaired at some point and neither are in good condition.

1 Like

Hi,

Thanks, this is super cool. :sunglasses: As is the fact you are bringing one of these beasts back from the grave! :+1:

Cheers!

1 Like

Mine is unrestored, but on the other hand it doesn’t look damaged at all.

2 Likes

1 Like

Thanks both, just what I was looking for! Back to the garage

2 Likes

My blog has been updated : Restoration Blog | Rusty Metal Man