MKX Front Brake Upgrade

Hello all, I have a 1963 MKX that I have adapted a XJ6 brake booster, master cylinder assembly and pedal but I can not get the brakes to stop to my satisfaction. The pads are new front and back. I was told that the front caliper mounting holes are the same on the 1963 MKX and the Series 1 E Type. If this is true then any upgraded brake caliper and rotor kit for a series 1 should bolt up to the MKX uprights. I measure 3 inches from center of bolt hole to center on my MKX caliper. Does anyone know dor sure if the bolt holes measure the same on the MKX and the Series 1?

Have the pads bedded in sufficiently as you say they are new?

I have been driving the car for several months, I can not get the tires to ever lock up and have significant brake fade if I push the brakes too far.

Is there much difference with the vacuum removed? And brake fade? That can be associated with contaminated brake fluid (water) due to high temperatures indicating that the brakes are working hard.

Brand new fluid, been bled several times, brand new booster and master cylinder for a 1986 XJ6.

Under 40 miles an hour the car seems to brake fine, the issue is a panic stop from 70 mph that im concerned about.

It appears the series 1 e type caliper mounting holes are the same 3 inch as mkx, so the calipers might interchange. Dont know if the 14 inch rims will clear.

I cant directly answer your question, however,

The front brake pads on the 3.8MKX have a smaller surface area than 4.2 MKX and 420G

One fix is to try and find calipers from the later cars

My 420G brakes very well

DO NOT EVER attempt to swap in XJ uprights, steering arms and calipers, it utterly ruins the steering

If the 420G brakes are bigger, then I wonder if I can exchange the uprights from a 420G?

dont need to…same part num

420G has 1/2" front discs, earlier cars had 3/8"

I got new discs and pistons from David Manners UK a couple of years ago

420G calipers are a rare & expensive item though