Multiple misfires with new ECU

Hello everyone, I’m new to this forum. What has brought be here is a problem I really cant seem to figure out; I turn to the enthusiasts for help :slight_smile:

I had water ingress into my ECU which caused it to not start what so ever, so I went and got a new one with matching numbers and all (LNB 1410 CC/3–…AA/13). I also soldered on a new black connector as it was extreamly damaged.

The car now starts, so im greatfull for that, but I have three missfires. Cylinder 2, 3, and 6 (as read from the back of the engine) wont spark. The other three will. I’ve ruled out the coils and the spark plugs.

I really have no clue what to do, I’m not good at mechanics. This is my first car after all. I do have a lot of will power though and will see this trough.

I’m hoping to get any suggestions on what to look at. I might add that there are no mechanics in my area that work with these cars so im on my own in that regard.

For full disclosure: I have a thread on this already on another forum but I really just want as much help as I can get. Thanks!

First thing is to clear the 4 drain tubes for the sun roof as this is generally the root cause of this issue!
IIRC others have rerouted wiring into the original ECU and this has worked.

See: Jaguar XJ6; Jaguar X300; Engine Control Unit; ECU

Scroll to bottom for ECU

I unfortunately do not have the original ECU anymore. Rookie misstake to get rid of it…

Just so we can talk about the correct plugs, the AJ6/16 engines are numbered from the radiator back, this changed at the change over from the XK engine.

Thanks for clearifying, the ones not sparking would be 1,4, and 5 so.

My collant level light is also on, im not sure if it’s related

There is no commonality between those cylinders to cause misfires that I can think of. Can you withdraw the injectors with the fuel rail? I know it can be done on the AJ6 engine as In did it to make sure all the injectors were firing fuel.