My First 1990 XJS V12 in Black Any Advise Welcome

Hello everyone,

Always wanted one. I just purchase this XJS for $2200.00 from a guy who invested over 5K and gave me about 1K in new parts. He purchased the vehicle from the original owner in Sonora, CA. The vehicle only has 78k miles and for its age looks great. The original owner had one mechanic work on it and when the mechanic retired the owner let it sit under a carport protected from the elements undercover (I think he said for 20 years). The seller that I got it from invested most of his time on the electrical and it shows that he did everything properly, the car runs but his mechanic recommended a complete exhaust system. The car runs well, but once the exhaust is replaced I am sure it will run better. He also did extensive work on the fuel system as well.

Doing oil change and going to work on upgrading cooling system before it goes on the road.

Any advice is much appreciated, I am an elementary teacher and also in the Army NG. When I first saw this car years ago, I had no clue what it was, but I had to have one!

Ruben

3 Likes

By the way, he was moving out of state and wanted it to go to a good home. After more than 200 calls and texts, I was the only one willing to make the 3 hour drive to go get it.

Welcome Ruben,

I’ve been enjoying my '89 convertible for almost two years now - took a couple of months to get sorted enough to drive reliably, now I feel I could drive it just about anywhere. I really like the coupes in black and love the basket-weave wheels. I have the two-tone basket-weave but not the shiny ones you do. Have fun.

Wow, yours is very clean! any recommendations for the cooling system? I was planning to upgrade to a better radiator but was not sure of the brand that would be a straight fit.

Thanks

It’s hard to imagine an XJS waking up from such a long sleep with a new owner stating how well she runs.