Mystery car Mark 2/340

This is my first time posting to this forum. Classic Showcase in Oceanside, California is advertising what is described as a 340 3.8. Reference books suggest there were only a dozen of these. Photos show that the car has a 340 badge on the lower right boot lid and a 3.8 badge above the rear license plate. It also has a 3.8 emblem above the grille. However, its chassis plate gives the VIN as P180755 (LHD 3.4 Mark 2 series), the engine number as KJ 10225-8 (3.4 Mark 2 series) and body number as E066745 (3.4 Mark 2 series). However (again) the number of the actual engine in the car is 7B 63881-9 (S-Type series). The car has Mark 2 bumpers, but I understand that some 340s were shipped to USA that way. If this is truly a LHD 340 3.8 it may be the only one ever produced, but the identifying serial numbers are far from supportive. Apparently, the seller does not have a Heritage certificate. Does anyone have experience with these rare cars and can cast any light on the serial numbers?

http://classicshowcase.com/index.php/inventory/detail/619

Going by this chart, it would appear to be a 1966 3.4L Mark II.

I would not trust badges, nor the accuracy of dealerā€™s historical information.

See Jaguar Chassis Decoder

Decoded Chassis Number

You entered P180755 which is a Jaguar Mark II powered by a 3.4 XK engine with power steering left-hand drive and a manual transmission without overdrive. This Jaguar Mark II was number 419 out of 482 vehicles manufactured during 1966 in the United Kingdom. The engine number prefix is KG, KH, KJ and the body number prefix is E. From November 1966 to May 1967, 719 Mark II left-hand drive cars with the 3.4 XK engine were exported primarily to the U.S. and Canada as re-badged 340 models. It is possible that 180755 represents one of these vehicles based on research by Jerry Liudahl as published in Jaguar Journal (January/February 2010 issue).

This is not a particularly rare Mk2, just a re-badged one IMHO.