Need help with XJ12 1984 fuel injection, DAC3062 pin 18

Hello,

I am a car mechanic, and I am working on an XJ12, 5.3 1984 which does not inject at the moment.
It has a DAC3062 controller. The problem is that pin 18 Engine speed is not connected and hanging loose. I am not sure where to connect it to. So far I understood it should be connected to the amplifier.
The amplifier is mounted in front of the engine bay above the water cooler and not on the engine like I saw elsewhere and has 6 wires.
3 to the hall sensor, 2 to the 9BR Y47229A Ignition Ballast Resistor Block and one to the ignition coil.

So my question is where to connect pin 18 to.

Thank you very much.

I might add we got the car in a not running condition with the task to repair the ignition, which we did.
So there might be a mismatch between the ignition and injection system.

What color wire, Clausā€¦?

In principle, the ECU uses ignition pulses to ā€˜readā€™ engine rpms, of course - triggering injection, all injectors, one every engine revolution. As the amplifier alternately ā€˜makesā€™
and ā€˜breaksā€™ coil ā€˜-ā€™ ground, the usual set-up is to connect the ECU #18 to coil ā€˜-ā€™ instead of a separate connection to the amplifier itself. However, different ign amps were used, and my manuals are not clear - a resistance may be required and the #18 might then be connected to the resistor packā€¦

Obviously there is no ready place for the disconnected wire to connect to the amp or resistor packā€¦?

Others may know better than me - but welcome on boardā€¦

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ0

It might help to properly identify the car and ignition system. It sounds like you have a ā€œPre-HEā€ car with the older Lucas Opus ignition (as opposed to Lucas CEI) which would make the car older than 1984; probably more like 1980-ish.

Along those line it would then have the older fuel injection system, perhaps D-Jetronic?

Iā€™m still on my first cup of coffee. But this might help?

Cheers
DD