New Member for Restoration Discussion

Happy New Year Forum Members,

I’m a Navy helicopter pilot currently stationed in DC and the current custodian of T831832DN, a 1958 150S OTS matching numbers car, originally Cream with a Light Blue interior.
Enclosed is a photo upon delivery a few years ago (only one I have here with me)

A restoration was started about twenty years ago, and then halted. Much of the body work was completed at a well-known Calif shop. The body is near-ready for paint, and sits on the completed/restored chassis in Orange County, CA.

I’d like to start a discussion with the forum regarding options for the way forward. The end goal is, to use a phrase in another thread, “showroom” quality but short of a concours contender. My preference is to commission the completion of body work and paint, then have the whole jumble sent to me in DC where I will finish the restoration. I’m open to having the body/paint work done anywhere, but for logistical ease think it may be beneficial to have it done near SOCAL? Let’s start the discussion there.

Hopefully, this thread will morph into restoration chronicle, culminating in photos of the finished car!

Again, Happy New Year to all.

Welcome!

You will not find a better, more-knowledgeable gang of folks to help ya.

Good luck, and enjoy the ride!

Welcome ,and good luck

Welcome, D.
My own preference would be to do the body work and paint myself, but if that is not your preference, you need to find a shop very familiar with the XK series, as they are not like your ordinary modern cars, nor even '60s muscle cars.
I would prefer one near me where I could visit the car every couple of weeks to check on the work.
I can recommend one in northeast Illinois that has done many 150s.

1 Like

Welcome. This is a well-trodden path.