New to the group & to Jags! Looking for my last project and have questions

Hello! I’ve been restoring classic cars as a hobby for nearly 50 years (my first car was a 1937 Chevy I got when I was 9 and made it into a hotrod & took my drivers test in it at 16), starting with big American iron and quickly moving to LBC’s.

Having restored many Triumph’s, MG’s, and Healey’s, I’ve never had my hands on a Jag. Now I’m moving the '47 MG TC and the '74 TR6 on to make room for what I expect will be my last major restoration. Providing you with the knowledge that I do absolutely ALL of my own work (paint too), and my MO is to bring cars home in pieces then win awards with them at shows years later, my questions to the forum are:

1. What are the top few issues associated with the E-Type besides the obvious rust?
  2. Do the blocks & heads have crack / warp issues or are they pretty bullet proof?
  3. Same for the gearbox - anything to watch out for?

I have my eye on S2 that is a non-runner with nearly 0 compression in one cylinder. Valve or rings maybe? Or could there be a cracked head or other issue the 4.2 is known for? I have no reservation on pulling the engine and taking my time to rebuild, but need to not start with a boat anchor…

Thanks for the insight! Looking forward to getting to know the group.

3 Likes

Welcome to the group!

Your topics are all well-covered in the archives, and they’re relatively easily searchable, just put in the terms that you asked about.

You’ll find that the E type and its six cylinder engine are not particularly complicated devices, but they do have their quirks. Covering all those quirks would take up many thousands of words, so that’s why I suggest looking in the archive.

You won’t need to many special tools, but you will need a few, and those can be rented through the Coventry Foundation (@Dick_Maury) or JCNA if you are a member.

You won’t find a better, more helpful group of people on the planet!

Brian,
Welcome to Jag-Lovers.