Others near me?

I just moved to Bolivar, MO – still waiting on plates from J. City. Are there any etypes nearer me than StL?
Bruce Harless

Bolivar is about 200 road miles due north of here. There must be someone in Kansas City. I know there used to be at least one list member in Jeff City.

I’m in Jefferson City, about 2 hours from Bolivar. There are several etypes in the Jefferson City/Columbia area, and an original XK150 about 1/2 mile from me. If you ever get up this way, let me know.

John & Ed, thanks for your replies. Somewhere in Jefferson City there is a set of historic plates destined to be on my car. Don’t know what it will be like trying – having – to stay within the 1000 mile limit for personal driving. Maybe join a club in STL :slight_smile:

Here’s a club close to you-I have no experience with them, but probably worth checking out.

1 Like

Missouri has a penalty if you drive over 1,000 miles a year with historic plates? How do they enforce that?

You are given a logbook to record each drive, it must stay with the car when on the road. Don’t know how well it works, suspect that many just roll the dice and drive.

That’s insane. I’d not want antique car plates if it involved that hassle.

1 Like

I just looked up the details:

To qualify for historic vehicle registration, a motor vehicle (passenger vehicle, truck, motorcycle, or RV) must:
1.Be 25 years old or older;
2.Owned solely as a collector’s item; and
3.Used for exhibition and educational purposes.

Click here if the vehicle is not already titled in your name in Missouri.

A vehicle that is registered as a historic vehicle may be driven:
1.To and from exhibitions and educational events without any mileage limitation;
2.To repair facilities within a 100 mile limit; and
3.Up to 1,000 miles per year for personal use.