P100 Headlamp Mounting

Putting my headlights back on today. The stud is not long enough to engage the full thickness of the nut. Can this be right?

As an engineer, I am uncomfortable seeing a nut with less than full thread engagement.

How do you guys aim these headlights without the reflector and bulb in place? Do you just guess, or put the bucket lens more or less perpendicular to the ground, or do you leave the big nut a little bit loose, like loose enough to push the headlight around on its socket?

Hi Rob,

If memory serves me correctly I think the normal nut is thinner than yours. Are the nuts on both your lamps the same?

Peter

If more than 2/3s of the threads are engaged, it won’t fall off.

Both nuts are the same. The thread is 5/8"-14 BSF. Nut thickness is 3/8". I would call that a thin nut. But only about 1/4" is engaged, so that’s a little over 3 threads.

Do the studs unscrew out farther? Does anybody know what’s on the underside?

Maybe I remembered it wrongly but it does look thinner than yours.

Here’s mine.

Peter

Yes, yours is certainly thinner, and it looks like you have only about 3 threads engaged. Same spherical washer. Headlights aren’t all that heavy for a 5/8" nut, so I guess it must be ok, and if its held up for 82 years and 96,000 miles it will last another 82. Thanks Peter.

What about alignment? Ed?

1 Like

Is that nut brass? You could thin it up, on a large, pretty easily.

Yes , the originals weren’t brass.so seems t be a replacement. WE do it with one of us holding the lamp at what we think is the correct orientation and the other tightening the nut with a bit bar on a socket I recalla star washer being a participant
You are thrice fortunate to have pre war P100s. The post war won’t focus both beams if you use double dipping globes.
But because of a different socket , and so different bulb, The pre war do