Pertrol filter assembly location on later xk150 (non S)

Hi,

Would anyone be able to post the location of the petrol filter assembly on the 2 carb xk150? I know it’s adjacent to the carburetors, but I am not sure where is it exactly.

Tadek

Hello,

There is no Petrol filter on both XK150 and XK140.
I Have both, No filter, on my S-type 1967 there is one.

Regards,
Peter Jan

Tadek,

Like Peter Jan said, there is no petrol filter assembly on the 140 and 150, (other than the ones in the float chamber lid).
I installed one as it helps especially when your tank might contain some rust etc. See photo’s attached. It’s not difficult to reroute the petrol pipe and make a connection using two flex-pipes. See my notes with a “trial and error” method, may be of some help.
The whole system works fine!

Regards,

Bob K.

Peter, Bob, Many thanks!..

However:
I am no expert on XK150, but the SPC says otherwise:

I finally today found couple of shots on XKDATA.COM, this one looking best:

I guess this is the original location?

Tadek

all XK150 S cars I believe had a filter mounted on the aircleaner and as per SPC and pic late twin carb cars had a petrol filter.

My very late Xk150FHC ( only a few numbers from the last ever build ) never had a Fuel filter.
It’s a two carb 3.8, although I installed a inline ( metal housing ) filter just after the Fuel pump.

Regards,
Peter Jan

Hi Tadek:

My 1959 Mk IX (similar era to the XK150) had such a petrol filter in a similar position. Very handy with the glass bowel because when your drains in the filler recesses plug you can see the water! I got stuck one day and, once the reason was spotted, sat at the side of the road switching on and filling the glass bowel numerous times until, finally, I was looking at petrol not water.

Chris.