Pools of petrol forming inside triple carbs

Hi, this is my first time setting up triple SUs after an engine rebuild. I followed instructions in the service manual and here.

Anyway, I did get the engine running a few weeks back, fired up almost first time, before I touched anything. But I can’t start the engine now (cold not helping likely). i noticed that when I do stop cranking i find pools of petrol have formed behind the bridge, is this normal?

Any advice?

It was normal on my Spitfire racer when the engine didn’t start or, the fuel level in the bowls was too high allowing gas to bubble up at the jet.

Flost level wrong. Sinking float. Bad seal at float valve.

Do not use choke when starting if you have fuel pooling.
I had a fuel pump switch on the Spitfire and always turned off the pump until the engine fired, then would flick it on.

HTH

Cheers Bill. I’ll try without choke.

All the float and seal hardware is new but I’ll also check it over.

Check for sticking fuel jets and make sure the floats is not sticking. Before storing the car away for Winter use STA-BIL. It will protect against fuel becoming varnish or what I use is a mixture of transmission fuel and gas. A quart of transmission oil to a five gallon of regular gas. It protects the fuel tank, fuel pump, fuel lines float bowls carb jets etc. It may smoke a bit on start-up or until the fuel burns off. It’s a cheap and easy easy way of protecting your investment. Cheers! :wine_glass: :blush:

If you replaced the floats double check you have the float height set correctly.

YW,
while you are in there check to see that the pistons are moving up and down freely with the dampers unscrewed.

Also, I would crank with the throttle wide open and clutch in to pick up a little speed

Good luck.