Prepayment and parts purchase estimate

Just curios if anyone knows of any California law regarding prepayment of auto repairs. When I paid, I was uncomfortable making a substantial upfront payment without the work having been performed. Have since filed a complaint for parts purchase without notifying me and estimated cost. When brought to his attention, I cannot believe the mechanic said, “We try not to do that.”

I am a construction contractor. I tell every new client I speak with that you do not pay in advance for services. I do not charge before I either deliver materials or have work started. In most cases you are not dealing with a Mcdonalds style business that is established and you know for sure you get your food once you have paid. Businesses should be able to finance themselves and if they perform the service correctly is almost every case the client pays the bill. In many states there are also laws that state that if you have received a service you must pay for that service under criminal penalty if you don’t. Even if you would sue and win you have no assurance of collecting. You have lost leverage. Good luck in your pursuit.

1 Like

Much appreciated. Just curios…is prepayment optional ( lawful or unlawful ) or your personal policy?

I recently spent thousands of dollars…more than 10…on my Jag.

My independent mechanic did not charge a cent until the work was done, even when I kept offering my credit card to cover parts. He said it his business and he has the resources to cover a project, and will get paid when he finishes. That is one of the reasons I keep using him…honesty, integrity, professional…even though he is about 5hours away.

Chaz

Check with BAR/ Bureua of autoove Repair.
Thee is law. Written and signed work order.

i never heard f payment to an autp place before the work was done.

No signed work order means you do not pay. harsh, indeed.

Carl