Revisiting the dual Strombergs to triple SU conversion

Pardon this post if there is some redundancy to prior ones. I’m no mechanic so I need some things clarified. I’ve got a '70 E Type OTS, and recently bought the triple SU conversion kit FZX3060 from SNG Barratt. I also purchased the round canister air filter assembly and breather pipe. The current breather housing has a fat rubber top off of which a narrow diameter tube goes to the Strombergs. First, I don’t understand what an oil breather tube has to do with carburetors…it’s purpose? So, the obvious question, do I need a different breather housing to accommodate the wider diameter breather tube I recently bought? I see many that has an arch coming off the breather housing which, in turn, is connected to the wider diameter tube going to the air filter assembly. Along those lines, in back of the place where the canister air filter is mounted, is a “nerf football” sized black tank of sorts. What is that and what purpose does it serve? Lastly, if I need a new breather housing, (specifically what do I get?) what do I do with the other narrow pipe running along the left side of the engine going to the carbon canister by the battery? Oh…and very lastly…regarding the manual choke cable. I currently have two cables, one going to each of the Strombergs. What modification, or replacement, is needed for the triple SU’s? I’d like to have all necessary components needed for this conversion so my mechanic isn’t waiting for other parts, etc. Thanks a bunch!

1 Like

Gary, I’ll try to help, but I have a’69 that came with the big round air filter canister. I reused the 69 oil breather tube, shortened it by an inch or two.
Every piston engine has some blow by (gases that sneak by the piston rings and into the crankcase). So you need to vent the crankcase to prevent it from pressurizing. You don’t want to vent it to atmosphere as it contains unburned fuel and oil. So you vent it in to the intake system to burn it.