Reviving the con-rod bolts & nuts discussion

Hey all, I just joined the forum and this is my first post! :smiley: First, I’ll give a brief intro/background and then get down to business. Thanks in advance for reading my post and for any help/advice given.

TL;DR: Skip to My Question to get right to the point.

About Me: I live on Florida’s sunny Space Coast and have for just about my whole life. I would call myself a Jaguar hobbyist as I have only recently begun scratching the surface on classic Jaguars. I haven’t started this journey by choice but by necessity… my dad is the original Jaguar enthusiast of the family and it’s his cars that I’ve been staring at just sitting in the garage for 40 years. He has always enjoyed taking things apart but has never been as fond of putting them back together. He’s too old to do much wrench turning now and still not very interested the work. I’m determined to see these cars on the road, and thankfully now I’m in a position to get it done.

About The Cars: The easiest way to describe the condition of the cars is to call them a “barn find”. As I mentioned, my dad liked taking things apart and that’s the current state of the cars. My first project (my car) is a 1968 E-type S1.5 DHC. My next project (my brother’s car) is a 1958 XK150. As I said, I’m determined to see these cars on the road so any effort to warn me off of this undertaking will be wasted. I’m taking more of a restomod approach than a concours approach to these rebuilds.