Rewiring Ammeter to Voltmeter?

I replaced my Generator with an Alternator and it works wonderfully, but have recently noticed the hot wire from the Alt is starting to get hot while driving. I’m going to replace the wire for now, but would rather put in a Voltmeter and rewire it.

What is the new way to wire it? Main output of the Alternator straight to the solenoid, and then a hot 12v to the voltmeter? I assume the “gen” light will no longer work.

Theo; I am no electrical expert, but I wouldn’t just replace that wire without investigating. You could have a substantial short to ground somewhere, or excessive resistance. That is a 12 awg wire, shouldn’t get hot. Second, I believe the gen light has to work for that alternator to start generating current.
Good luck, David

It can (and should be done quite easily), it is needed to retain the warning light circuit, it acts as an exciter to make the alternator work properly.

there are excellent instructions in the “UK E-type Forum…technical mods”…also in the archives here.

it is important to be done properly…ammeter takes all the current thru it and has fat wires, the voltmeter does not need that, and they need to be safely dealt with.

a voltmeter is correct for an alternator, and reduces in cabin electrical fire risk

in my personal opinion, a digital voltmeter is the best thing, as they are predictive on your battery status, anything else is completely useless for that important job

The original dynamo provided a maximum of 25amps, whereas even a small alternater will now provide about 45amps. Hence if the battery is a bit flat the alternater will be pushing a lot more current through the ampmeter than was originally intended until the battery is fully charged up. The same might go for the wiring.

it most certainly does

consider the worst case scenario, flat battery, jump start, the alt will INSTANTLY pump its max output straight down the wire to battery, so that may be 90amps,