S2 - Losing Brake Fluid - Update

On my Series 2 I seem to be using brake fluid from the rear reservoir. On the Oil Leak this worked out to a consumption of about an ounce per 500 miles.

No evidence of leaks and the vacuum tank has no fluid in it so I suspect it is finding its way into the engine and then out the tailpipes.

My question - what is the likely failure & remedy?

Is it simply a matter of rebuilding the remote servo or is the booster itself to blame?

This is my first car with a brake booster so I have no experience with what can go wrong. Thanks for any advice.

Hi Geo,
Sorry to hear that your having issues, I recently was having leakage from the servo reservoir thinking that I had a bad servo master only to find that it was leaking from a crack in the reservoir, since that is an easy fix Iā€™d check that first. After that I suspect that your going to have to look at your servo master cylinder as it could be leaking into the servo vacuum booster tank, they can hold a lot of brake fluid before it starts getting sucked into the engine.
Cheers,
LLynn

1 Like

My booster had almost a half gallon in it, between a PO and myself we had managed to top it up for a long time without realizing where it was going. Alas, you will have to pull the booster as the servo is attached inside it.

1 Like

Okay - thatā€™s sounds like my next task.

Is there typically a solution short of replacing everything? e.g. a rebuild kit for the servo or a seal between the servo and the booster?

The leak is the shaft seal on the booster. I pulled mine apart and the metal parts were in great shape (so was the diaphragm in the booster, sort of surprised me with all the fluid), so I did a light hone on the cylinder and installed a seal kit. Others have needed to replace the parts. Anyway, if you have the time Iā€™d pull it apart, see what you need, then decide what to do.

Morning Geo,