S3 E Type tachometer

Just wondering if anyone has had this issue with their rev counter. Mine operates normally, but at approximately 3200 rpm the needle stops dead. It is as though there is a pin poking through the face and the needle hits it and stops. Any clues as to what may cause this?

Thanks in advance.
Regards.

Hi Chris,
Welcome to the forum, I’m not an electronics expert so I can’t really say why your tach is acting that way but I would be looking at sending it off to have it fixed. I’ve used both Nissongers and MoMa with good results. MoMa was a bit cheaper and faster IIRC.
Good luck,
Cheers,
LLynn

Thanks LLynn, appreciate your reply. Might have to follow your advise and get it looked at; just thought there might be a simple “look-as-this…” as this is an impulse rev counter attached to the OPUS unit…

Regards,
Chris

Chris

Rather first spend money on getting rid of the OPUS ignition. It might be electronic but its not a good system, both in terms of design and specially now - after 50 odd years - reliability. Its only a matter of time before it leaves you by the road side.

Your options are:

1. fit the Lucas AB14 ignition system from an HE V12, complete with dissy and DUAL coil setup. This may be the the cheapest conversion (if you can find a system) and would include vacuum advance that would bring at least a 20% fuel consumption benefit on the open road. Its also standard Jaguar parts. (The vacuum retard module is a most unfortunate leftover of early 70’s attempts at meeting the emissions specs at the time.)
  2. Lumenition has a fool proof, plug and play solution, with an “installation kit” specifically for the OPUS dissy. I have this on my S3 and it works very well up to 6000rpm. I also recommend that you also upgrade the vacuum retard module on the dissy to a vacuum advance (JLM519) for the fuel consumption gains mentioned above.