Screwed and glued? Or just screwed?

No, not my bank balance now I’ve started restoring my 140DHC - the door timbers.
A very well respected supplier of panels has given me an excellent one-to-one tutorial on lead loading. During the ‘lesson’ I brought up the topic of wood timber, which I’m going to replace. He suggested using a good African hardwood, lent me some profiles for the endplates and advised me to screw the frames together, and not to glue them. He said that the timber would need some movement to avoid cracking or damage - yet a restoration book I have says things will work loose without glueing the timber as well as screwing.
Any opinions on this?

If you are talking about the panel the hinges fix to … I would not glue if using a solid wood , but I would use ply and glue it . But hey I am no expert .

With the work you are doing to your car Jim you will be very experienced, (definition of expert; ex an unknown quantity, (s)pert a drip under pressure) just for giggles :slight_smile:

Hi Jim,
I think I’ll be making a new frame as there are so many splits and rotten areas in the doors now. My question really asks what is the accepted method for a complete new frame - clearly when my doors were made there was no glue used, just screws. I’m wondering what current restorers do.

Roger:

Why not go with both, belts and braces? It is not a job you are likely ever going to have to repeat, if it was me I would guarantee that by using screws and a good epoxy.

Chris.

Greetings All,

I’m somewhat familiar with the whole coachbuilding process, I make the stuff.

First off, his wood suggestion, overkill. I’ll explain further along.

SS and Jaguar bought their wood from Glickstein’s in Germany. Ash or alder was likely used. Being that the wood was not sourced in the U.K. BECAUSE wood is scarce, SS was known to get the best yield possible, and then some.