Seatbelts in a 420G

I want to put inertial reel seatbelts, front and back, in a 420G. Has anyone had any experience with this?

I have a MKX wreck with them fitted.

presently advertised new on Ebay (coming from from Germany), various colors

fitment appears to use the same location in the front

(not sure if wreck has rear inertia)…some drilling and fitment of plates and approved seatbelt mounts would be needed for rears

shouldnt be too difficult.

I would only do the rears if I carried rear passengers regularly

I intend to transplant those from the wreck to my 420G, except they are black, not grey, and the chrome is rusty

I bought non-retractable 3-pt belts from Andover Auto.

http://www.andoauto.com/

They are really nice and look original but are modern materials, etc. They seem to offer retractable belts though I have no experience with those.

The front’s bolted into the existing mounts on the floor, then there were existing welded nuts behind the wood in the door pillar. Rear not sure, not nearly as much room back there. That said I have a Mk2 might be different for you.

Hey Mate,

Fair into it at this stage.

Front: Retractor on the floor. Two touch points on the way up to the existing top bolt to “bend” the belt around the seat.

Back: Horizontal Retractor on the parcel tray with huge back plate under the parcel tray. These come with a cover that will get covered in the correct parcel tray material. Busy parcel tray as it already houses period AC and speakers.

In design stage. Going back to the belt experts tomorrow. Will take pictures as we develop the solution.

Thanks for your reply.

Cheers, Phil

I fitted retractables, 3 in the back bolted to the back window shelf with plates under.

On hind site I wish that I had fitted them on the vertical bulk head behind the seat back, with slots for the belt cut into the parcel shelf. This would have looked 1000% better.