Series 2 coupe - Unknown modified accelerator pedal and pulley system

Dear all

I am new to this section of the forum and have a question.

I was fortunate enough to purchase a series 2 XJ6 coupe in September and it is generally in good order and a joy to drive.

However I am baffled as to the pedal set up which is a modification I believe.

By way of background, the previous owners late husband used to work for British Leyland and made a few changes.

Now my question is, does anyone know what
This set up is and how to adjust it as there is some play in the cable, which looks exactly like the cable system on a bicycle?

Thank you in anticipation.

J

In my quite limited exposure to these cars, i have never seen that.

1. The spool by the carb is a coil spring. to close the butterfly when the pedal in the cabin is not depressed.

2. The pulley by the brake booster changes direction of the cable. Much like a snatch block as used with winches

3. Aye, it is a cable that moves within a housing. AKA as used in bicycles for braking and sprocket changing.

4. In my day with bicycles, there were no cables. One speed and brake on the rear wheel only, Teh coaster brake usually found was of the New Departure brand.

I gotta say the pictures depict a slick system’

Carl .

What a curious system. I wonder if the superfluous holes in the housing means some thing has been removed…. I imagine a primitive cruise control, but AE Econocruise was available as early as 1975.

If the free play is in the area where the cable enters from the firewall then I would imagine screwing the adjuster out should remove some free play.

Interesting. I’ve always thought the pedal feel in mine is quite sticky because of the bicycle cable arrangement. I’d love to re-engineer it with some kind of roller and pivot arms, sort of like my TR6 has, which has a much smoother pedal.

The bowden cable is factory but the pulleys?