Smog to idler, and a Thank you

A couple of weeks ago, BobPhx posted a picture of an idler pulley and bracket he had made to replace the air pump on his car. As I have been using my air pump as an idler for a few years, that motivated me to have a go at making something myself. I didn’t have any aluminum stock, but I did have a steel bar from a tractor, which measured about one and a quarter by three eighths.
After the car’s last run (to an all-British car show at Lake Erie) I removed the old air pump and started sawing. Using Bob’s photo as a guide I made a simple bracket, and spacer, which would bolt up to the existing mounting on the car. I bought a four inch pulley in the hopes of using the existing belt.
The photos show everything before paint. A big Thank you to Bob for the idea, and as far as the car’s “Last run”, I will be getting a total hip replacement next Tuesday the 28th, so I will be off the road myself for a while. Lots of last minute stuff to complete first, though!

3 Likes

That looks nice Dave.
But I would be a bit weary with that long long bolt and spacer configuration.
I would somehow reinforce it, there will quite a lot of a side forces on it once you start tightening the belt.
Maybe a new bracket that mounts on the Alternator bracket or something ?

Looks good Dave!
Regarding the twisting, Aristides is correct. On my setup the spacer is countersunk through the bar, and they are welded together. You might consider countersinking and even JB welding. That will take care of the twisting force. Good luck with the hip!
Regards
Bob

Good luck Dave! Make sure to inspect the hip joint before you get it put in, and make sure it does not have “LUCAS” imprinted on it!

1 Like

There. Never did like welding in circles, but still… Welder was buried in a corner, but I dug it out!

2 Likes

That looks like some good welding.

That oughta do it! 20 chars.