Stainless bumpers

Has anyone any update on fitting stainless bumpers to MK2 or Daimler V8 wide blade? There are a few old posts but no feedback on current condition of any of those fitted or recent experiences. I am not building a Concours car but a regular user and it will get knocked due to the prevalent horrendous parking attitude of locals around here. I have quotes for re chroming which are frankly eye watering and it cannot be done at all in Ireland as they have all been closed down.
Even a bad re chrome can fail and I am looking for 20 years of use. Polishing out SS marks is preferable to worrying about chrome failing or getting damaged.

I have no experience of the ss bumpers available, but have read very good feedback of those supplied by Harrington when fitted to Rover cars.

If it helps I have used my car as a daily for 20 years in the UK with no major issues; one of the over-riders has a slight ding but I cannot recall if this occurred before or during my ownership. Also they responded well to a good clean and polish using bodywork polishes and a mop.

A financial decision as much as any I would have thought – I’m happy with the chrome although not perfect and should imagine they would withstand all but the fiercest attack from a modern soft plastic bumper.

I have them. There are pluses and minuses.

Plus

I got two new bumpers for the price of having one re platted.

The cross section profile of the bumpers is good.

The over- riders are good.

The front bumper is a good fit.

They maintain a reasonable shine and you can buff out any scratches

They don’t rust :slight_smile:

Minus

They are very light gauge. They will provide no protection in a crash