Tesla powered Mark V: I'm swapping a Model 3 powertrain into a 1950 Mark V

Okay, it’s not really a typical Lump, but I thought some people might be interested in my new project.

I bought a 1950 Mark V for an electric swap. I’ll be attempting to install the battery and motor from a Tesla Model 3. It will probably take a few months but should be an interesting build. I’m an automotive engineer and have fabricated several automotive Frankensteins so I don’t expect any insurmountable challenges. But I’m sure trying to merge a 70-year separation in technology will be interesting.

My intro video is up, and I hope to update weekly. Tesla Powered 1950 Jaguar Mark V - Let's Talk About My New Project - YouTube

6 Likes

nice to see something different!
good luck, keep us updated!

I think this is awesome! I will subscribe for the updates!

Just recently, some guys installed a Tesla drivetrain into a Rolls Royce Silver Shadow (formerly owned by Johnny Cash). I posted the link on one of the Facebook Rolls Royces Forums. I was almost crucified by the moderator!

I think you will the RR conversion interesting!

Richard

2 Likes

Matt, This is absolutely the right place to post this. Any power train swap is welcome! That model E drivetrain looks very compact but probably too large to swap into most RWD cars. I am looking forward to see how well you make out putting it into your Mark V. I really like your approach to implant a production drivetrain. There are many options available today for converting old cars to electric power trains. We are still in the wild west days of EV conversions. I don’t know if it will happen soon but I hope Tesla the rest follow the GM aftermarket model (LS) for drivetrain systems marketed to the builder community. Bob

Were things a lot different, I would sure like to have the RR drive train for a critterFrankenstein of my own…

A few years ago, i took my lump in for SMOG. the kid there called it a frankenstein!!!

Carl