Thanks for all of the great info

Hello everyone.

I am a newbie and I dont own a Jaguar, but I want to thank you all for the great information on this site, and potentially from making a big mistake. Let me explain.

Several days ago, I went to a fellows house to look at a classic car he is selling. In his garage, along with the car I was interested in, sat a 1983 XJ-S.

It is bright red, has the V12, full European ground effects and 52k miles. I could not find a spec of rust on it anywhere and the interior is flawless. The engine compartment looks like it has never been cleaned or tampered with, and looks like a car with 52k miles would expect to look.The car is literally gorgeous, and I instantly fell in love. He said that he may sell it, and I instantly got the fever, so I started to look for forums, and stumbled upon Jag-Lovers. I’ve owned a few classic cars, but have never had a foreign vehicle let alone an exotic V12, which I’ve only been able to dream about

After reading many posts over the last few days, I’ve reluctantly decided not to pursue the deal. Why? Because I feel, unfortunately, that it would be a mistake both for me and the car. I’m not very mechanically inclined, and dont have a maintenance budget to speak of, both of which seem to be a pretty important requirement. The car has been garaged for many years, and would require a complete going over by a qualified and knowledgeable mechanic to avoid any potentially harmful issues, but I live in a small town in a very rural area, so finding someone like that locally would be next to impossible. Dont get me wrong, there are some good reputable mechanics in the area but probably none of them have even seen a Jaguar, let alone know how to fix one, especially a 30+ year old XJS with a V12.