The K&N Air filter for the carburettor V12 (Series 1 Double SIx, Series 1 Jaguar V12, Series 3 E-Type)

Good morning team,
I have been scouring the web for air filters for my 1973 Daimler Double Six VDP with very little success. Apparently they have stopped making them? Notwithstanding, I have put K&N Filters in my 1988 XJ-S V12 with fantastic results, so I am seeking advice/availability/source of a K&N Filter for the earlier car. I’m sure my friends with V12 E-Types have already made the change to their engines.
Searching the web:
SNG Barrat did provide one under C37066KN, since discontinued;
I have measured the air filter housing, and using the K&N website and found two that may fit 33-2819, and 33-3095, but seek advice from the forum on anyone that has actually fitted the replacement filter.
Many thanks for your help and advice.
Kind regards,
Chris

The main purpose of air filters is to keep foreign objects and dirt from entering the engine, Chris - without unduly interfere with air flow. And to some extent to dampen inlet noise…

The first is likely fulfilled by any reputable air filter - the second is sort related to individual preferences…

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ)

1 Like

Thanks Frank, whilst you have identified the problem broadly, my nuance is that I still want to use the factory fitted air filter housing. Having established this constraint finding the correct size and shape filter is a problem. There are many filters that can prevent rubbish entering the carburettor, but not very many that fit the housing, or indeed afternarket housing filter combinations that fit the car: room being at a premium beneath the bonnet of the V12 saloon.