To manually turn the engine for timing and point gapping

What size socket or spanner is needed to put on the front crank nut to move the engine to set the points to the top of the cam for re-gapping? This is my first attempt at replacing the points and resetting the timing. Any tips are appreciated!

I prefer to jack up the left rear corner, put the gearbox in 4th and turn the tire to move the engine.

The movement is very gradual so I can sneak up on the marks - easier of course with the plugs out as you are not fighting compression and the jerky movement it can cause.

But if you prefer a socket (or spanner) it is 1 5/16".

I put it in fourth gear and roll the car. Remember to take it out before starting.

I do the same. Very easy to do on the E-Type, as with the bonnet open you can roll the car just by leaning on the RH front tyre, while watching the points at the same time.

I do this if I need to static time. Worth checking for backlash in the system as well - the little dead spot that might be there between rolling forward and back. Could amount to a couple of degrees? Paul

Good point. If you’re setting static timing (rather than just the points gap), you need to be inching the car forwards until the damper marker is at the right position. If you overshoot, back the car up (still in 4th) past the point you need, and have another go inching forwards.

1 5/16"

nweujoipwebfiu

Having just went through this same dilemma with my car, I found a simple and effective approach. I took the rubber/ plastic protected handle of a channel lock pliers and used it as a leaver between the 1 5/16 nut and the 4 smaller nuts on the crank pulley. Even though it is at an angle, It worked very well, with the rubber protecting the nuts and allowing slow / minor rotation of the engine.

I had the spark plugs out to make the rotation quite easy.

Robert

Sounds like you have one of the S2s without a Powr-Lok diff George. That wouldn’t work on most Es, IMO.

Yes & oops.