Total advance on XK engine

I recently had the frustrating experience of a 2 week old condenser going weak, causing really confusing run problems until I figured it out. So, I’m getting ready to convert my points distributor on my new Mk10 4.2 engine to Pertronix I, which I’ve been running on my Mk2 and an e-type for 25 years with zero issues.

I do find myself confused about timing on this engine. On reviewing previous posts, I think there are considerable differences in opinion on the best way to set timing on an XK. I may have to time it dynamically after the Pertronix is in.

This engine, stock 9:1 compression, is currently static timed at 10 degrees BTDC, runs ok, no pinging. Acceleration is decent on premium no alcohol fuel, currently running stock UM needles, UB were too rich. Idle at 650-700 is just a little irregular.

My dynamic timing light shows around 15 Degrees BTDC (vacuum line off), and total advance (hard to read) is around 34-35. The manual gives advance figures that suggest total advance of 10+9+10.5=29.5 in a best case scenario and about 25 with numbers at the low end. I do have significantly more than that.

I’m guessing my distributor springs might be weak. Seems like it might be better to use total timing. Or replace my distributor springs. If I set my timing dynamically, I’ll be putting my initial time closer to 5-6 when starting the car.

Any thoughts about why my dynamic timing is so different from static?

What total advance are the experts using on stock xk engines?

Is there a downside to 35 degrees total timing?

1 Like

Depends: what is your altitude, and what is the final compression ratio of your engine?

1 Like

I dont have source to quote, but it was my understanding that 35 degrees “all in” was good for an XK engine.

I suggest you check the archives, as this has been discussed before

I have not looked at any of my manuals, but cant recall under 30 degrees as being correct