Unusual 140 coupe

I recently sold a 140 coupe and it had an extremely low chassis number (one of the first few made). 30+ years ago I started to restore it but stopped (when the funds ran low) and put into storage till this year. It was a wonderful, rust free, original paint body that I stripped down, epoxy primer-ed, and put away till this year.

Now the unusual- there is no sign of right hand drive access holes on the firewall. On the right side there are no pedal rod holes, no steering shaft cut out, not even bolt mount holes for a high/low headlamp button.

I’ve worked in a Jag rest. shop almost 35 years, so I have some knowledge of the XK’s and thought that they all had the ability to be right or left hand drive. Were any made to be a test car for the U.S. - their biggest market, or Canada? It had a large square Smith’s heater under the dash panels that I had to dis-assemble to remove last from the totally stripped down body. It was prepared for cold weather. I think it was chassis number 14 in the LHD coupe.

Thanks,
Phil.

Phil,

Nothing unusual.

RHD and LHD XK140 bodies were built up from start to be RHD or LHD, so no superfluous pedal holes or steering holes nor dipper-switch brackets.

The CHASSIS were however made common for both LHD or RHD, and just had the required RHD or LHD parts assembled on, to suit required end result.

I am actually going through a 100% exhaustive LHD to RHD conversion now, and fully documenting every minute difference between LHD and RHD.

Quite a bit of sheet-metal work with the body-conversion, but the chassis is straight forward apart from where LHD parts are actually different to RHD parts, such as the brake-pedal and brake-pedal stem.

Bit of work in converting LHD rack and pinion to RHD, but can be done 100% authentic.

Same with the Handbrake Lever and its assembly.