V12 engine Problems

Hi all im a newbie here and live in the uk. I recently acquired a 1978 xjs which was running very badly and obviously not on 12 cylinders. I have owned v12 jags in the past but dnt have to do any work on them apart from servicing as they ran fine. After checking the usual, plug leads on correct plugs, all plugs sparking, cylnder compressions all ok. The wiring harness for the injectors was in a terrible state having being repaired more than once and was very brittle due its location in the v. I made a new harness and fitted it and the engine seemed to run worse than before. I checked the wiring I had done several times and all seemed ok. I saw on a site that one connector of the injector plug should show 12 volts and the other 0 volt,Iis this correct ?. Every one of my plugs showed 12 volts on each connector. The engine is firing on cylinders 2 and 5 on A bank and 1-2-4-6 on B bank. I have a inkling that the problem lies with the ecu which lies on the front crossmember above the radiator.
I don`t want to spend a small fortune on a replacement ecu if it is not the problem.
I would gratefull if anyone could shed any light on my problem.
Thank you , Chris.

With ignition on and not running, they will show 12V on both terminals. This is because 12V is fed to one terminal and the injector is energized by the ECU grounding the other. As long as it is not grounded, the second terminal will register 12V simply coming through the coil from the other terminal.

Your '78 should have D Jetronic EFI, which fires three injectors on one bank and three injectors on the other bank all together as a group of six. To get the arrangement of firing you claim would require a screwed up injector harness, I think.

And the ECU isn’t on the crossmember over the radiator unless someone moved it. There is a MAP sensor in there somewhere, although I expected it to be on one of the fender wells. The MAP sensors are often a problem, as the diaphragm can get cracked and leak.