V12 valve stem seals

Ok my series 3 ots is finally blowing so much smoke at startup that the neighbors are complaining. The engine runs great except for the first 5 minutes of smoke. My mechanic and I are in agreement that I need new valve seals but we disagree on how to do it. I have read several threads on this site and looked at a few YouTube videos that show the seals being replaced without removing the heads. It looks doable. My mechanic (who is an excellent, honest, jag expert) says that changing the seals with the heads on is so tedious and time consuming that for almost the same cost he could pull the engine, whip off the heads and do a proper valve job. I have got 65000 hard miles on this car and I know it will eventually need major surgery but I would like to try a bandaid. If I replace the seals myself the cost of parts is trivial. If I screw it up I’ll tow it to my mechanic who can say I told you so and pay for a valve job. So, I’m a fairly competent backyard mechanic. I know how to use a torque wrench and I have read the manual. I see two major risks. First, while the spring is disconnected, dropping the valve into the cylinder. Game over, call the tow truck. Second, i get everything back together but i failed to properly seat one of the valve spring retaining collets and when I start the engine the valve disconnects from the spring and drops into the running engine. Game over. Total disaster. Should I give it a try?

Dropping the valve is preventable. There are methods using compressed air, cord, rubber hose etc., youtube is your friend. Having the valve colletts come loose is only preventable by carefull work and confirming that they are properly seated. Your third option would be to do the work and 5hen pay your mechanic to inspect it before start up.

1 Like