Veneer removal warning

Hello once again boys and girls, I am attempting to re-veneer the wood in my car and although I have never done this before I am reasonably skilled with tools and it gave me an excuse to buy more tools, PLUS it has saved me a fortune.
In doing this project I have discovered various things that need to be done to the Burl Walnut veneer before you can apply it and what type of glue to use etc. (if anyone would like any advice that I can give (but I am not a professional) I will be more than happy to let you know what I have discovered.
the main reason for this post is to warn you when removing the old veneer be sure to re-glue the wood BEFORE you remove the old veneer as the original glue will have dried up and need to be replaced before you start anything, I glued mine and then left it for two days to set properly.
See photo for what I mean.

Gary

I redid the veneers in my MKII. There were some minor repairs that were needed.

Because most of my veneers were in good shape, just the outer finish peeling off, I only had to strip the old finish.

I used a commercial stripping agent and worked a small area at a time. I was worried about any mechanized sanding as the veneer is so thin.

The stripper was applied and watched for its reaction and a single edged razor blade was used to strip off the old finish. The area was dried immediately to keep the stuff from penetrating and loosening the glue.

The razor blade was changed frequently and you always draw the blade towards you with the blade trailing, sound dangerous, it isn’t, just needs your full attention.

One thing I did notice…the veneer that makes up the defroster guide to the windshield, was long since gone. I had to get some new, that matched, hard, not impossible.