VIN search for 50's and 60's vehicles

Have been searching for source of VIN’s. Everything I have found gives me the same message “VIN incorrect” or “need more numbers”.
For example have a MKVII, VIN “A 47128” titled as a 1952. Have another VII, VIN “627415” titled as a 1955. Would like to confirm these numbers.
Have a number of Cars with 5, 6 or 7 numbers or Letter combinations that I would like to confirm.

I think you will find these cars pre date the current VIN system in almost all countries.

I’m no expert on the 1950’s saloons, but I suggest a good starting point to understand some of the numbers is saloondata.com. A bit of poking around would appear to show the following:

• The “Car Number” for the Mark VIIs (this is the number that identifies the car, and predates the standardized 17-character system) is a 6-digit number commencing with a “7”

• The 627415 number comes from a LHD Mark V Saloon from 1948-50

• The “A 47128” number you reference is very likely to be the engine number (some states registered cars by their engine number at that time). There should be a hyphen between the “2” and the “8”, so the real engine number is A4712-8. The “8” indicates that the engine has an 8:1 compression ratio.

I’m sure that someone with more knowledge will jump in at this point, but hopefully saloondata.com will get you started. Good luck!

-David

Exactly.

The present-day 17-character VIN convention began circa 1981-82. Before that manufacturers were free to devise whatever VIN/serial number arrangement suited them. Organizing all this decades-old information into a database would be quite a chore

I might add that even the 17-character VIN system isn’t 100% standardized. There are 3 or 4 variations. Most online VIN decoders recognize only the North American version.

Cheers
DD

This VIN DECODER works for any 1955-1969 Jaguar (Mark I, Mark II, 240, 340, 420, or S-type) or Daimler (2.5 liter V8, V8-250, or Sovereign 420 type) saloon.

1 Like