Visual difference between a 2.8 and 4.2? Just checked out a rust free 73 california car

Hi, I’m not sure what else to task. I checked out a 73 XJ6 today, and I’m new to jags completely. I have owned british cars before, but not a jag. Popped the hood… triple carbs from an XKE, supposedly? Also, it was originally an automatic, and the original owner converted it to a manual trans.

What’s it worth? Here are some photos:

https://imgur.com/gallery/dsFDICg

1 Like

If you mean a 4.2? and a 2.8 ? Look at the rear of the cylinder block. You won’t see a flat plate bolted on the back face of the block facing the firewall. That’s because the 2.8 is a shorter stroke engine so the block isn’t as tall.
The plate is basically trapezium shaped held in place with 1/4” UNF bolts.

1 Like

Yeah, sorry, 4.2. Did you check out the photos? Manual trans S1. Rare? Desirable? Valuable? How much?

I really wouldn’t have a clue, sorry I’m in England. I think a manual adds value, it does over here. The triple carb set up is unusual on an XJ6. But think it would only make the car worth a bit more if somebody had a pair of the original SUs and manifold to fit to it.
The triple carb manifolds have a value as lots of people like to ditch the lovely twin Stromberg set up on thier E types.

Another tell tale may be the tacho? I think the 2.8 might have a higher rev limit due to the shorter stroke?
Being a converted car may weigh against it as far as value is concerned.

Yes, I think a 2.8 has a 6000rpm and a 4.2 a 5000rpm. Also ask if it has an overdrive! Ordinarily there is a little switch on the top of the shift, if it’s a retrofit it might have some other arrangement. Paul.

Nice to see. Interesting.
Some enthusiast got a hold of it at some point down the line.

Rare?
sure
Desirable?
sure. To me it is.
Valuable?
…not going there again. To me it is.

Definitely worth putting out there for someone to bring back to life and save.
Not enough of these around.