Water in oil ? Head gasket?

Hi I’m new to owning a xjs but not new to owning a classic car
I’ve had the engine and box pulled out to do work inside the engine bay as the oil was drained it was quite a light brownish colour which what I presume goblets of water in there as well
The engine has run fine with no issues no over heating or water loss the previous owner changed the oil 12 month ago and said the old oil was fine
I’ve only drove the car for a month before taking her off the road to carry out restoration works 73000 on the clock genuine miles any advice would help

Maybe the water is just from condensation

Year? V12 or I6?

If no loss of coolant over the period of your ownership and if no oil in the coolant, then, mixing both liquids due to a failed head gasket seems unlikely.

But, since you have the car out of commission, before you put the engine back in the body, due diligence is a must – at the minimum a leak down test will show you how deep into the engine you need to go.

Good luck and welcome!

Hi

It’s a v12 1985

Kind regards

Carl Fretwell

COMPLETE COOLING SERVICES LTD

Mobile 07966349550

Hi

See attached

Kind regards

Carl Fretwell

Mobile 07966349550

That looks bad to me. Good luck.

1 Like

It does look very bad. If indeed it is coolant and oil mixed, it is hard to imagine that there would not hav been any coolant loss over the period of that month the car was driven.

Yes I would have to say coolant in the oil. I had a 97 Buick century that the lower intake manifold seals went bad in, and it was the same way. I didn’t notice much coolant loss at all, but and however, it was enough. Not sure how the 12 is set up, but it could be a small leak somewhere else too. I agree with the leak down test