Wire wheels powder coating or two pack paint?

I’m just about to refurbish a set of wire wheels for a XK120. Which is best powder coating or painting with two pack?

Depends: if you want an extremely durable and very even coating, powder paint is a marvelous product.

That said, at times, the palette of colors can be limited: if you like the colors offered, PP is easier and generally more durable than spray-on paint.

But if the spokes ever need to be trued (does anyone still do that anymore?), wouldn’t powder coating make it exceedingly difficult to turn the adjustment nuts?

Greetings All,

How do you plan to adjust spokes after the powder paint has oven cured?

I had the wire wheels for my 150 powder coated after they had been trued. Will be a long time before they need adjusting again. Beautiful job! Looks great!

I’m a painter. Frames, wheels… Paint works just fine.

Think about the abuse a wheel can take. Scratch the paint off the outside surface of a spoke. Now… touch it up so it matches. If you’re thinking about opening that can and masking off just a spoke, you can do that on the car.

Same issue exists, whether it be PP, or paint.

John, Do not powdercoat.

Powdercoating is something that should be avoided on a car restoration.

The powdercoat is usually a very thick (compared to spray paint job) coat of paint. It’s hard, and if chipped off you have bare (usually sandblasted) steel that just rusts beautifully.
On top, it’s not anti-corrosive in any way (unless you use a zinc powdercoat primer underneath, which makes it even thicker)

The way to go with car parts (especially suspension, wheels, etc) is electrophoretic paint. This is the paint that’s used on all modern cars on suspensions. 99% of the time it’s black, however it works as a very good (and very thin) layer of primer.