XJ12 5 speed conversion advice needed

Hello all,

I have a V12 XJC and want to do a 5 speed manual conversion, the pedal box is already installed.

I have heard that the T5 box is the go as the shifter comes out in the correct position on the ski slope?

Is this correct?

If so what model, year or type of T5 do I need to source here in Australia?

Thanks

I have an XJ6L converted by a previous owner to a manual using a T5.

I am no expert so take all this with a grain of salt. My T5 came out of a mid-1980s Ford Thunderbird 2.3L turbo coupe. There are apparently two classes of T5 - one called WC (World Class) and one not. Something about the WC is deemed better quality.

However, are you sure a T5 is suitable/strong enough for the V12? I’m not saying it isn’t. Just asking. There’s an outfit at TheDrivenMan.com that sell manual conversions and they use a Tremec TKO 500 on their conversion for the XJ12C. Link to TheDriveMan.

There are, of course, a lot of other things need to change in such a conversion. On my car they changed the bellhousing, flywheel, gearbox and prop shaft as well as adding, obviously, a clutch and the pedals (and yes, the shifter did fit through the hole in the tunnel with no modification in my car).

Good luck.

David

I used one from mid-late '80’s mustang in my xjs. here is a link with specs on t5’s http://www.allfordmustangs.com/Detailed/349.shtml

Good Day,