Xj12 74 project pricing

hello everyone
This is my first time posting in xj section , I own several xjs’s and i know a bit about them.
i have found a local 74 xj12 that I want to buy however i do not know the price range .
it is not running , it has sat for 20 years in a garage and a year outside .
there is evidence of moisture inside and the car does not look bad for a 74 .
how much should i offer?

Same rules apply for the XJ Gourgen.
Need to know more though.
Rust, interior condition, seized or not engine and so on… After Max’s recent experience we all are more sceptical for car that sat for 20 years… and it was a car with a very well known history.

1 Like

Sorry, but I wouldn’t touch that car except for a parts car.
It will need fuel tanks, pumps, carbs just to see if it runs, then piles more money.
If you really wanted one of these models, it would be cheaper to buy one done, that someone else has put $20,000 into, and is now for sale for $7,000.
If it was a series 1, it would be worth a little more, but the same applies.
If you are looking for something to do, that’s different.
Good luck,
Rob

3 Likes

I do not want to rain on your parade but I would not offer much. I now own 2 cars and have spend the better part of 5 months working on it and it the Problems seem to never end. Still haven’t been able to get it running… but then again I am learning a ton. So there is that. It is just very frustrating and expensive. YMMV

1 Like

I understand , I do not need another headache. thanks

As a owner of a '74 XJ12L (hopefully for not much longer), buy a picture book of the XJ series. The real thing is more of financial burden than it’s worth. Beautiful cars? Yes. Reliable? No.

1 Like

Stephen,