XJ6 4.2 series I valve lubrication problems engine # 7L24341-S

I pulled the valve cover on the exhaust side to hunt down a terrible high pitch metal on metal noise. The cam lobe on #5 is dry and making a bad sound. 5&6 don’t have as much oil in the cam bay and there is metal in just that bay. Doesn’t look or sound good, any advice on how to proceed is appreciated! BTW I’m new to Jaguar and just got a hotrod 420G!

To clarify, Kaspar, (and welcome to the list!) - in xk language’ #6 is the frontmost cylinder. So it is important in this case that you are positive about the identification of your '#5 and 6!

Oil is delivered to the head by an oil pipe at the rear of the engine, Kaspar - and it may be clogged. Banjo bolts are used to mount the pipe, and the first step is to inspect the bolt areas for leaks. Then unscrew the bolts in turn (note the washers and their placings!) and inspect them for possible clogging - then the pipe itself.

However; there is no specific lubrication for the cam lobes and tappets - they are lubed by oil ‘spilled’ from the cam bearings, collected in the cam bays. Lack of oil in the related cam bay may indicate that oil is not properly fed to the adjacent bearing(s). This may cause damage to the bearing - which may require some additional work.

Ie; the problem may be either insufficient oil feed to the cams, the front of the cam is the last to receive the oil, or a specific problem with a bearing…

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ)

I would pull the breather at the front, depress the plunger, loosen the tensioner (needle nose pliers work better than the special tool), remove the gear from the camshaft (don’t drop anything of course), get the camshaft out (mind whatever might be attached to the rear of it) and inspect the bearings.