XJS Radius Arm Mounting

Hi,
I have a 1992 4.0 XJS, I am in the process of doing some restoration work, I have noticed that the Radius arm mounting at the rear N/S needs to be replaced. I am looking for any advice before I tackle this job. I have already rebuilt the front end including all front panels and front suspension mountings. My main concern is how to ensure that I mount the radius arm mounting cup in the correct position (left right, up down, forward and back). Any help and advice will be appreciated.

Welcome Garreth.
I have no experience with this however I have seen a lot of discussion on this forum on that subject. Try using the search function and I think you find a lot of info that could very well answer your question.

Best regards,
Jim

Jim,

I did look, I only found lots of discussions about issues with removing the arms and bushes. I will have another look as I suspect this is common with all Jags.

Hi Garreth-
Am I understanding correctly - the protrusion on the bottom of the body that fits into the large-end N/S (near side) radius arm bushing needs to be replaced? That sounds like some significant body damage or rust…?

If it was me… I would replace everything else - rear suspension subframe mounts, the bushings in the other radius arm, and the bushings in the N/S radius arm, put everything back together (including the O/S (off-side) arm) and get the car sitting on its wheels, roll it back and forth a bit to settle the rear suspension, bolt up the rear of the N/S arm, then use the newly-bushed front of the N/S arm to locate the mounting protrusion. There should not be any pushing or pulling or twisting to located the the arm on the mount, it should just fit over nicely.
As far as vertical location (you must be missing a bit of structure if vertical location is a concern?) I’d probably try to use other reference points to get the body level, and then measure the distance from the O/S mount to the floor, and replicate that on the N/S mount.