Xk 140 close ratio 4 speed

I have a spare xk 140 close raito 4 speed from 45 years in storage and I am rebuilding it. Does anyone have specs. for the rebuilding. The jag. book does not give anyting, such as shaft end play and other tec. things.

What book are you using? The WSM surely does!

The Mark VII / XK120 factory Service Manual covers the SH and JH models of the Moss box, but the JLxxxxCR will be the same repair specs.
Counter shaft and 2nd & 3rd gear end floats are .002-.004" or .05-.10mm and main shaft end float is .002-.006" or .05-.15mm.

Thanks Rob:
I have been rebuilding Corvette racing transmissions for many years.
I have 2 skids of XK parts that I just started going through. These skids
are from about 45 years ago untouched. I got them with my last XK 140 DHC C.
4 speed auto/CR trans. The car and parts came from a gentlemen that was a
Jag mechanic and part of a Jag. racing group in the 50’s. He kept them in
his back barn and never got around to working on them. This trans I am
rebuilding is not from the above car but a spare off the skid. I was told the
parts were off a car they raced. The building were the other car was kept
fell down and destroyed the car. They stripped all the running gear parts they
could off the car and put them on skids. I have no idea what type of Jag.
they raced.
The trans. I inquired about is untouched. It has a SH input shaft and
a JL counter gear set up. Stamped inside the top of the alum. case
is"11/50/1" ). Does that make any sense to you since the case was never opened.
#JL35935CR.
Also—This 140 I acquired I was told " was used for racing on the
beach in Datoyna, blown up and sat outside storage for 40+years. It is now
100% restored. I have been trying to find out about its racing history in
FLA. for about 10 years with no luck.
Also—I am very impressed with the machine work on the Jag. trans.
Very, Very Nice work.

THANKS for the info. ED D

In a message dated 12/9/2016 4:29:54 P.M. Central Standard Time,