1953 XK120 FHC master cylinder nightmare

Although politically incorrect, my 53 FHC is fitted with a single master cylinder. Probably because when the double m/cyl gave up, a replacement was not readily available and a previous owner, at the time, decided to reverse to the single version, just like the factory eventually did later with the inception of the XK140. I have a brand new master cylinder, a new single line fluid reservoir, and I also have the 2 new short brake lines to connect the reservoir to the master cylinder, one fitted with a female fitting to fit the reservoir (that fits well) and one fitted with a male fitting to accept the original banjo (which I have) on top of the master cylinder. So far, so good! Unfortunately, the hole at the top of the master cylinder is too big to take the original size banjo bolt. The way I see it, I have 2 possible solutions :

• find an adapter either male/male or male/female to the size of the hole in the M/cyl on one side and the normal size on the other end (I can make another pipe with male fitting if necessary)
  • find an adapter to fit both the M/cyl and the original union and banjo bolt, on which an original size male fitting will connect.
    The new master cylinder I have came with the car when I purchased it and was supplied by Moss Motors. But it may not have been intended for an XK, some other cars, such as the MG TC I believe, shared the same unit.
    Sadly, I am not familiar with English threads (I’m a metric person) and I don’t know the size or type of thread at the top of the M/cyl. But all the other fittings are original to the car and fit properly.
    Can anybody shed some light on this. Any suggestion or tip will be greatly appreciated. Thanks to all. XKs forever! Bernard

Bernard,
Have you considered going back to the original dual master cylinder?
If so I can help.
Dick

This is mine.

The MGTC master cylinder is nothing like it. The MGTD/TF was a smaller 7/8" bore.