1984 Automatic Borg Warner 66 Wont move in drive but moves in Reverse and 1st

Hello, new here to the jaguar world although I have a lot of experience on other manufacturers so go easy on me as I am excited to try a new project car.

Picked up a 1984 XJ6 Auto that goes nowhere in Drive, moves in Revers, and goes forward in 1. There is not clunking or heaving shifting at all between these gears.

I know you can’t diagnosis this off this information haha but I was curious if there were any broad strokes that are common for this issue or if you suggest a place to start?

Thank you

Hi,

Check fluid level hot in N with engine running after going through all gears.

If you don’t have drive in D but in 1 and R it’s either the linkage or the valve body.

Awesome thank you for the advice we’ll see how it goes.

Good luck Kyle.

And as far as other manufacturers go this transmission is very similar to most other three speeds with throttle cable… BW8, BW35, FMX, they’re almost the same.

Kyle,

even though the shifter obviously operates for 1 and R, my prime suspect would be the contact for D at the shifter - easy to get there, you keep your hands clean and may reap an easy success.

Good luck

Jochen

75 XJ6L 4.2 auto (UK spec)

Much appreciated

Nice I haven’t seen this posted another would love for this to just be it

Great but there’s no contact - he must mean the notches at the lever don’t match the notches in the valve body… so just confirm that it’s not a little misadjustment and D is a little more towards 2 than it should be… and D selected is still in N.

Can you repeat what I’m looking for, very sorry, green to this way of thinking. Do I look at the shifter like the previous post? Thank you

At the gearbox a little bellcrank moves through the gears. Inside the box has detents.
This is connected to the shifter by means of a cable. Then the shifter itself has detents.