1984 XJ6.0 Turbo

Hello all, here is the beginning of my journey of installing a turbo LS engine into my 1984 XJ6.

A quick bit of background about me - I’m a 30 something mechanical engineer with a young family working in the aerospace industry and wrenching in my spare time. I’ve done a couple of LS transplants into non-native cars and a few other “fun” cars as well (6.0 into BMW E39, 6.2 L92 into C5 Corvette, 6.0 into Crown Victoria police car).

After pulling the 6.0/80E out of my Crown Vic Police Interceptor for some winter maintenance and upgrades, I couldn’t bring myself to put it back in the car as the body was really starting to rot underneath. I vowed to myself that I would never buy any other rusty piles as I refuse to do bodywork and have no time for rust repair. Patina aside, it got old getting into a car with rusty fenders and rockers - just not my style I guess.

This one is a 1984 Jaguar XJ6 that was originally delivered with the 4.2 straight six and 3 speed auto. The PO owned the car for over a decade and babied it, never driving it in bad weather. He had a shop install new tires, brakes, go over the rear end, and even had it repainted. Ultimately as with all old cars the drivetrain started nickel and diming him to death, so once it got to the point where it wouldn’t start he decided it was time to move on. Perfectly convenient for me as I don’t need the old drivetrain and have no intention of getting it running.

Bringing it to my storage spot in November 2021:

Getting it on the dolly was a breeze with my DIY winch.

1 Like

Some more photos of the car…

It has a super weird twin (but separate) fuel tank setup with a filler cap on each side and a driver operated tank select switch. I plan on ditching the tanks and going with a fuel cell but I really want to keep the dual fillers as they’re unique and in my opinion give the car its character.