74 E Type Sequential Start System Question

The topic of sequential start systems on late Series III E Types came up in another thread regarding sensor identification, but since the subject probably escaped the attention of most I am posting it separately. I am just beginning my study of the E Type electrical system, complicated by the fact that my knowledge of electrical systems in general could be fairly described as sketchy.

In the attached photo you can see that the large white(ish) multi-connection plug in the center of the panel section is unplugged from the sequential start logic controller (gray box). It has apparently been that way since before I bought the car in 1985.

I presume this was done to disable the safety checks (seat belts, etc.?) that prevent starting the car. My question is whether disconnecting the plug impacts any aspect of vehicle operation other than disabling the pre-start safety checks?

And while I am asking dumb or lazy questions, what is the round silver device that looks like a cigar lighter that is mounted on the bracket on the fold-out instrument panel directly above the fuse chart?

Thank you, and I will study more before asking more wiring questions.

Rod

Hello Rod,
I’ve never seen your first mentioned item on an S3 car and the second item is definitely an add on. It looks a lot like a Cigarette Lighter module and may have been added to provide a 12V outlet in addition to the provided Cigarette Lighter.

Regards,

Bill

1 Like