76 XJC V12 with HE Engine

Hi All,

New to the forum since I recently purchased a non/running 76 XJC V12. I’m still learning about the car and it appears to have an HE engine with the D-Jetronic injection system. I’m assuming the original engine would have been pre-HE and is it common to see something like this or am I looking for trouble with this type of set up?

Darrin,

you are right. This car is too early for HE. It’s certainly worth to investigate whether the FI matches the rest of the car or whether it came with the HE engine.

While Jag parts are typically quite backward compatible, in this case I’d probably prefer an as extensive swap as possible, including fuel management, ignition, power train and periphery, if it has been cleanly executed …

Good luck

Jochen

75 XJ6L 4.2 auto (UK spec)

An original injected non-HE engine would have D-Jetronic. An HE should have Lucas Digital P injection. A few non-HE engines got Digital P between sometime in 1980 when it was introduced, and July 1981 when the HE was introduced. AFAIK, no D-Jet HE’s were ever built.

Of course, early XJ12s had carbs, before injection was introduced.

EDIT: The best way to tell what engine you have is the serial number of the block. It’s stamped just in front of where the transmission bolts up, on top of the block.
Jon

Not anything more than with any other non-runner, Darrin…:slight_smile:

As other say; find out what you actually have - and run a compression test…

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ)

An easy way, meanwhile, is to compare plug positions/angles. It has been a long time to recall which is which, but one has more splayed plugs and study of suitable engine pics will soon reveal all.

pre_HE engine spark plugs are angled toward the centerline of the engine.
Hello Peter ! SD Faircloth