Anyone have info on labor times?

I work for a shop called Mountjoy’s and I’m trying to find labor for a 1968 Jaguar E-Type 4.2. If anyone knows where I can find this information or if someone has is and is willing to pass it on to me I’d appreciate it 1,000,000%

Hope to hear back from someone soon

Are you looking for a published “Flat Rate Manual” or estimates from those here who work on their own cars?

Well what my boss wants me to find is labor times so preferably a flat rate manual. I have some e-type books but it only gives me info on the car but no labor times.

I have about $2.2 million dollars in labor on mine. I’m not your guy, Estefany.

Seriously, you can throw a F.R. manual out the door when working on 50 year old cars. I can imagine that job times in 1960 weren’t favorable to the shop doing the work. Money was made in the sales department in those days. Break even at best on warranty work.
BUT I have no actual knowledge in the matter.

2 Likes

I have books like this for other jags but not for e type and something similar to this is what I need. I can only imagine with it being so old that I would have a hard time and I’be been looking for days now with no luck.

Naw. You don’t need no labour manual for working on an E-type.

You just sort of look at it, scratch your head, go over the job in your mind and estimate the amount of time it’ll take you to do it.

Then double it.

Unless it has something to do with the starter, in which case triple it.

If it has anything to do with the clutch or reconnecting the windshield washer nozzles just make sure you have smelling salts handy to revive the customer before you tell him the estimate, and a box of Kleenex for when he comes to.

4 Likes