Converting to triple SU carbs

Hi , I am new to owning an e-type and want to convert from Strombergs to triple SUs.
Is there a definite list of what I need to convert - including the engine breather arrangement- I have a carbon canister fitted.
Thanks
Phil

There are kits available, and lots of information on J-L.
You say you are new to new to E Types. I would wait awhile and do some research as to why you wish to spend the money to make such an expensive swap. The ZS seem to have a poor reputation, but they are a very good setup. Many people wish to swap for emotional reasons more so than technical. Just so you know the difference.
Tom

Agree with Tom: for the money, what you mainly get is eye candy.

Unless you are willing to spend some serious cash, the rpm range where the SUs make the most difference is up at 5000+, not an area one wants to bisit often with unknown internals.

Your better bet is to upgrade ^back* to an earlier distributor, ir get yours recurved.

@David_Ahlers can talk to ya on this!

1 Like

These are very expensive here in Oz $8000 plus for full conversion set.

Paul on the secondary butterfly removal on the z s is this a relatively easy conversion?

I have a set on a 2+2 here and am thinking about what I have read and getting Joe’s adjustable jet and needles combo ….your thoughts?

Danny, you don’t even really need to remove the butterflies: if you just disconnect them from the carburetor linkage then jam them open – there is a ton of threads in the archives about how to do this – I think one of them is called the “5 minute Strangleberg fix” – that’s all you really need to do.

You can also either blank off the crossover, or use the nifty little cap Jaguar themselves used.

That, with the earlier dizzy, the performance, up to -4500 rpm, is virtually the same as the SUs.

Adjustable needles are a good mod, too.

1 Like